Signed up for the Route 66 Half-Marathon in Tulsa, OK

Well, it’s official – I’m checking off one more state this month! Oklahoma here I come! 

Today I registered for the Tulsa, Oklahoma Route 66 Half-Marathon!! I had so much fun at the Chicago Monster Dash last weekend that I wanted to do another half-marathon! Plus, I’d really like to get my time below 2:00 hours! Who knows if that will happen, but it can’t hurt to try!

Also, these medals and shirts look pretty sweet! 

When I was looking at potential next races, I did a lot of reading up on the Route 66 marathon and was pleasantly surprised by their sustainability efforts. In addition to recycling and all that jazz, the Route 66 Marathon also does a lot of food/clothing donation and gives participants the opportunity to donate $5 to offset the carbon footprint of traveling there. Maybe this is something standard, but from my limited experiences in the running world, I thought that was pretty neat!

I’m also excited for this pasta dinner. My mom ran the Chicago Marathon back when it was the Chicago Lasalle Marathon for her 40th birthday and that pasta dinner was one of her favorite parts. Maggianos in Chicago was pretty darn good, but I’m looking forward to meeting new people at the official pasta dinner!

Now I just need to figure out how I’m getting there, where I’m staying, and what to do! If you have any suggestions for how to make the most of a weekend in Tulsa – leave a comment and let me know! If I have 24-48 hours in the city – what are some things I absolutely can’t miss?

8 thoughts on “Signed up for the Route 66 Half-Marathon in Tulsa, OK

  1. There is a full marathon, but I’m just doing the half! Is it terrible that 80% of my decision on where to race is based on how awesome the medals are? lol

  2. Thanks for the many comments on my posts! Glad someone’s reading them. I look forward to following your own 50-states goal. Also, I’m doing the Route 66 marathon this year – definitely motivated by the medals. What can I say, we have a condition!

  3. I know for confident these women really feel sad and ignored.
    The title is fairly obvious but the key goal of this is to use passive communication by
    way of cell phones and text messaging applying romantic enjoy messages.
    Just about every ladies craves to have a man who adores her.

    It’s been said that there are many who send their man text messages and he either doesn’t
    return them or requires forever to return the message.
    On the other hand you may possibly be in a position to get some tips from your local relationship guru also but just realize it’s a distinctive kind of assistance.

  4. Pingback: Touristy Tuesday: Chicago, Edition (Version 3.0) | Race for all 50 States

Leave a Reply

