Three Races in Three Weekends

The last three weekends of my life have been filled with some of the most incredible experiences of my life, and now I’m looking forward to another three adventerous weekends in a row.

Three Weeks Ago: I gave my huge client presentation that was essentially the culmination of all that I learned in college. This past semester I worked as an Account Planner at MOJO Ad, and was tasked with developing consumer insights around how twenty-somethings view happy hour for our client T.G.I. Fridays. Image

The presentation went terrific and it really topped off five months working with some incredible individuals. If I didn’t already have a job lined up for after graduation, this really could have opened up doors! Either way, I walked away with some great experience with primary research and campaign development.

Two Weeks Ago: I ran my first full marathon at the Cincinnati Flying Pig.

It was the single most incredible, exciting, and fun experience of my life! After 18 weeks of training, I couldn’t have asked for a better climax.

One Week Ago: I graduated from the University of Missouri School of Journalism with a Bachelor of Journalism, with an emphasis in Strategic Communication. I also received minors in Business – Marketing and Geology. Not only did I graduate, but I did so debt-free and with Magna Cum Laude Latin honors!

This was a goal that was four long years in the making for me and I worked my ass off to achieve it! I made applying for scholarships a part time job, held three jobs, and did the whole RA in the dorms thing. But, it paid off! In fact, it’s still paying off. Mizzou just sent me a nice little graduation present – a check in the mail for excess financial aid!

After graduation, my mom, sister, and I took a road trip down to Little Rock, Arkansas. I was pleasantly surprised by how cosmopolitan it was. I’ll be honest, that trip down through the Ozarks was rough with all those hills, but worth it. We went to the Clinton Presidential Library (I just love presidential libraries!) and also saw Central High – home of the Little Rock 9. I managed to squeeze in some runs along their riverfront trail as well.

Now those are a hard three weeks to top. In fact, I’m not sure they can be topped. However, the next three weeks look pretty darn promising!! — 

This Weekend: I’m headed up to Madison, WI to drop my sister off. She came down to Missouri for my graduation and the road trip, but now it’s time to send her back home. Then I’m making a stop in Rockford, IL for the Rockford Half Marathon.

While I don’t really consider anywhere my “hometown” because I moved so much growing up, I spent the longest time (6 years) living in Rockford and that is where I graduated. I really have no desire to go back and would rather meet up with high school friends in Chicago, but the allure of running the half was just too tempting. I looked at the course map though and realized the “scenic” parts include some of the scary parts of the city – recognized as one of the “Top 10 Most Miserable Cities in America” by Forbes.

I’m also going to Second City in Chicago! The birthplace of some great comedians, including Tina Fey and almost the entire SNL cast, I’ve been wanting to go to a show at Second City for years. Unfortunately, because I’m usually too spontaneous to plan in advance, I can never get tickets. Luckily my friend David is a little bit more organized than me!

Two Weeks From Now: I hope my grandma isn’t reading this, because I’m going to surprise her for her 76th birthday! Last year I decided on the 23rd to make a road trip out to Estes Park, CO to surprise her the next day on her birthday. This year I figured I’d keep the tradition going! 

While in Colorado, I’m making a long weekend of it and doing the Bolder Boulder 10k with my aunt Karla. The biggest 10k in the country I believe, I know this will be a blast! Because I’m doing it with my aunt as a graduation gift I’m not sure that I’m going to run it. We might just take it easy. I’m very excited to share this experience with her because she has been an enormous inspiration to me. At 50 she managed to lose 60lbs+ and has done a triathlon! She is what got me going on my weight loss and fitness journey!

Three Weeks From Now: I’m doing this Hospital Hill Half Marathon in Kansas City on Saturday, June 2nd. I’m looking forward to running this with my friend Sean, who has proven to be my spontaneity soul mate. He was the one I convinced to run the Warrior Dash with me the day I met him, and also signed up for the Tulsa Route 66 half marathon a week before the race! His girlfriend is running with us as well and hopefully I can convince them to hit the Power & Light District with me in downtown KC the night before!Warrior Dash 2011

The next day, Sunday, I board my flight back to Madison – this time to start my new job driving the Oscar Mayer Wienermobile! 

5 thoughts on “Three Races in Three Weekends

  1. Wow! What an exciting post. It’s exciting to see what comes next. Well done, Kelly, You’ve worked so hard and have so much to be proud of.

      • 3 Points. They can beat Rockford, and Chicago (IMO, assuming Pasquale is not in net). But I would think Pasquale will get ahneotr shot against Milwaukee and the Ads fall in OT again.Peoria just looks strong, and are getting back the 4 players they missed in their 3-1 loss to OKC (Oystrick, Cundari, Spina and Hensick). After locking out media after their last loss, they will be hungry for a win Friday after being off for a week and I don’t think the Ads can handle them.In Summary:Rockford- WinPeoria- LossChicago- Loser Point

Leave a Reply

