Running with the Locals

Prescott, AZ is such a gorgeous area and I wanted to take full advantage of being in such a beautiful place. However, after those first few hot and hilly runs through the desert, I knew it was time for a change of pace and scenery, and I reached out to the local Prescott running club – the Mountain Milers. I shot them a message saying I was in town with the Wienermobile and would love to meat up with anyone interested in a run, drink, or a meal.

Talk about an overwhelming response of welcoming! It could be because having a 27″ long hot dog is pretty enticing, but the people of Prescott proved to be some of the most hospitable people I’ve met! Positively Midwestern!

Marlyn, a Mountain Miler, quickly got back to me with invitations to an early morning hike, girls night at the bar and movies, and the Saturday morning 10k run! My email was forwarded to the club list-serve and within the day I was also invited on the Sunday morning run. Talk about a friendly group!

Of course, I said sign me right up! 6:30 a.m. on a Friday for a 5 mile hike? Let’s do it!

Friday morning I hiked with Marlyn, Steve, and Gabby up Mingus Mountain on the Rick Tank Trail. To be honest, I didn’t even realize how close the mountains were to Prescott, but all of the sudden I was driving the company car up this absolutely gorgeous scenic route!

The hike was beautiful. It was a fur-children friendly route, and they all brought their dogs (I brought the BIG dog). It was great to be around new people and meet the locals! It was also nice to be around dogs – living in hotels you kind of miss having pets around!

When we stopped to take a break (it’s for the dogs!) Steve realized he was low on water. Maryln offered him some, and jokingly told him she’d only charge him the regular price this time. “Normally,” she said, “the higher up the mountain you go the steeper the fee!” Haha – I thought that was just too funny!

Abe and I were off to the rodeo Friday night so I wasn’t able to make girls night, and because of the rodeo Friday night, a Saturday morning 10k just wasn’t looking like a good idea. Even the rodeo dance though couldn’t keep me from the Sunday morning run in Groom Creek!

Running on about 4 hours of sleep, Sunday morning I grabbed the keys and maneuvered the company car through the winding dirt roads up to Groom Creek. If I was tired when I woke up, by the time I got to the meet-up I was bursting with excitement. The hills and views reminded me of when I lived in Colorado and was so glad I didn’t pass up this opportunity! Running with the locals, you get to experience new paths you never would have found on your own.

There were seven of us that morning and talk about a charming crowd! I love the running community because they are just cool people that constantly keep you inspired! And, they’re just plain nice! I ran with Cactus Jon, Noel, Tom, Margaret, Dina, Len, and Josh.

Having never run with a group before I didn’t know what to expect. What I found was that they push you harder and keep you motivated. When the people next to you are running 50 milers and working on double digit marathons, you can’t help but be impressed! They kept me going on those uphills (the entire first mile and a half I should mention! They didn’t warn me about that in the email! haha!) and walked with me when I took a short break.

I absolutely LOVED the run with the Mountain Milers! I couldn’t have asked for a better time. Brilliant company (smart, funny as hell, and inspiring) and unbelievable scenery!

I think I’ve landed on a new tradition – doing runs with the local running clubs in each city I’m in. Up next: Lake Havasu Hustlers.

5 thoughts on “Running with the Locals

Leave a Reply

