CrossFit – Feel the Fear & Do it Anyway

My first CrossFit Experiences and Meeting Jamie Eason Along the Way!

I have been interested in doing CrossFit for months now. Literally, months! As a runner I’m in pretty decent shape. It’s not like I’m gasping for breath going up a flight of stairs. However, being on the road I’m only a runner. All the cross training I used to do, biking and swimming, has stopped because it’s just not as convenient as lacing up the old Mizunos.

As a result, I’m getting skinny fat. I’ve got the middle-aged mom arms going on (no offense!!) and they aren’t as toned as they used to be. I mean, I used to be known as Kelly “Big Guns” Goldthorpe back in the high school swimming days!

CrossFit appealed to me because it seemed like a way to get a full body workout. And, let’s not lie, people who do CrossFit look damn good! The intensity and group aspects were also reasons that I wanted to try it out. That “Type A” personality in me is all about the next challenge!

Well, weeks went by. And months. And frankly I was a big fat chicken. A real “wienie” if you will! Since I didn’t really understand how it worked I was too intimidated to actually try it out. I rationalized it by saying I was focusing on my running. (Anyone knows though that to be a better runner you need to cross train so let’s just acknowledge what a load of B.S. that excuse is!)

Finally, in Boise, Idaho Abe convinced me to come with him to this Box downtown, the CrossFit Refinery. I really was just planning on dropping him off and going grocery shopping, but they had a class that started 10 minutes after we got there. Somehow I ended up roped into the workout.

10 pull-ups
15 sit-ups
10 times
Whoa.

I didn’t think I had it in me to do one round, even with the modified jumping pull-ups I was doing. To be honest, I didn’t think I could even do the sit-ups! But, low-and-behold, I did it! And it felt DAMN. GOOD.

The let me hit the gong for me first workout!

It was so quick! Why didn’t anyone tell me how awesome this was going to be?! After one workout I immediately saw the appeal of CrossFit. It’s like ripping off a bandaid, quick and dirty. It got me sweating and I felt like a champion once it was over!

Abe and I went back last night too. I was still nervous about it but in the locker room I found another source of inspiration. I looked in the mirror and who did I see – none other than JAMIE EASON from BodyBuilding.com! I knew it was her the minute I saw her.

If you want to be impressed, meet this girl. Not only is she a knockout, but the more I talked to her the more I realized what a business mogul she was! Talk about a savvy businesswoman! She really has crafted her own brand and built an empire on it.

So why on earth was this fitness guru at a CrossFit gym in Boise? (Not exactly the first place I’d expect to stumble on her, but not a White Castle either I suppose!) Well, she was on a photoshoot launching her new product line.

Of course after meeting her I couldn’t back out of my second CrossFit workout. Yesterday was 5 dead-lifts, followed by 10 burpees, 5 times. I may have been the last to finish, but I finished! Talk about a post-workout high! It was definitely high-fives all around after that. Luckily all the guys at the gym were excited to share my enthusiasm!

The trainers at the CrossFit Refinery were awesome! They really explained all the movements to me and made sure I understood how to do everything before starting. I was so appreciative of their patience because it made the whole experience much less daunting.

So now I’m hooked! Without a question! I’m ready to find a box in each new city and keep this going! My only concern is how to mix this in with marathon training. I figured I would probably go 2-3 times per week. On my off and easy days. Does anyone have any advice on combining CrossFit with marathon training?

Alright, expect many more CrossFit posts to come! I think I might be addicted!

(Can you believe 15 months ago I almost weighed 200lbs and never exercised? I’m loving the changes this last year has brought in my life!)

2 thoughts on “CrossFit – Feel the Fear & Do it Anyway

  1. Pingback: Touristy Tuesday: Boise, Idaho Edition | Race for all 50 States

Leave a Reply

