Elf 4 Health: 6 Week Fitness Challenge

Thanksgiving break is over! I had an unbelievable and much needed week back home in Kansas City catching up with family and friends. (I’ll fill you in with all the details soon with a Touristy Tuesday post.) Today I head back to Albuquerque to pick up the Wienermobile and then Abe and I are on our way to California.

Starting back at work and starting a fresh week, I am setting a few new goals for myself. I’ll admit it, I pretty much took the entire month of November off of my diet. I think after running a marathon I just needed a month to decompress and mentally I wanted to take it easy. (Yes, these are all cop-out excuses, I know!) I still ran (and actually did pretty well with getting in most of my runs) but let’s just say I kept the carbo-loading going far past the marathon itself!

These next few weeks leading into the Christmas break I’m looking forward to getting back on track with eating healthy. (Not dieting necessarily, just eating clean and consciously.) Since I am a Lifetime Weight Watchers member I am going to try to get back to tracking. I have always found that tracking what I eat helps me stay cognizant of what I’m consuming and encourages me to make smarter decisions.

I also am taking on a new adventure. My friend from college, Annica, is a fitness blogger extraordinaire and recently posted about the Elf 4 Health Challenge. I just signed up! Started by Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean and Elle from Nutritionella, It is a six week challenge that will run from the Monday after Thanksgiving through the first week in January.

nutritionella

There are daily tasks, daily winners, prizes, weekly newsletters, and a Facebook group for support. I’m looking forward to the variety this challenge promises (from Meatless Mondays to writing a handwritten note to a friend) as well as branching out in the blogging world! There is such a wide community of health and nutrition conscious individuals out there that I am also hoping to connect with.

If you are interested, you can still sign up for sounds 2 and 3 here!

I wanted to leave you with one quote, perhaps my favorite, that I re-read whenever I know I need to let something go.

“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.” Ralph Waldo Emerson 

Leave a Reply

