Whoops: How Do I Recover from Marathon Training Slacking?

Alright bloggers – I’ve got some serious running questions and motivation requests for you!

I signed up for the Mississippi Blues Marathon for January right before running the Marine Corps Marathon. I wanted to plan ahead and keep motivation for my running. Well it’s now been NINE DAYS since my last run. That’s right, almost double digits. No excuses, but I’ve definitely been slacking and I’ve missed quite a few long runs.

I know, I know – I need to just get back out there because that’s the best way to move on, but now I’m starting to doubt if I’ll be in shape enough for the Blues Marathon that first week of January.

So here are some questions:

If I get one 20-miler in before the race next week and just pickup my training schedule where I left off will I be able to finish?

What about PR?

Should I just switch to the half marathon?

How much shame is there in that?

I think I just need to buy some awesome cold weather running gear to perk myself up and then dust off the running shoes. Lululemon gift card anyone?

4 thoughts on “Whoops: How Do I Recover from Marathon Training Slacking?

  1. Pingback: The Tale of the Terrible 20-Miler | Race for all 50 States

  2. Pingback: From 0 to 50 MPW in 1 week! | Race for all 50 States

  3. Pingback: Race Report: Mississippi Blues Marathon | Race for all 50 States

Leave a Reply

