The Top 10 Things I’ve Learned in Madison my First 10 Days:

10. ALWAYS look out for bicyclists.

9. Keep cash for the bus, and that cute vegan coffee shop two blocks away. Hippies aren’t big fans of credit cards and consequently a lot of local shops are cash only. (Not to say all locals are hippies though!)

8. People, unfortunately, do not walk around campus doing “The Bucky.” That reminds me, I really need someone to teach me how to Bucky.


7. Willy St. is short for Williamson St. and you look like a dweeb if you don’t realize that. I was a big dweeb for the first seven days.

6. No seriously, did you check that blind spot? There is probably a bicyclist right there.

5. Midwesterners are awesome, enough said. We are the friendliest people you will ever meet, especially if you meet on the bus.

4. A balanced Wisconsin diet is composed of three primary food groups: beer, brats, and cheese. I think even the vegans find a way to make it work.

Wisconsin Food3. Think you’re safe from the bikes as a pedestrian? Think again.

2. Entertainment is cheap: walk out your door and you’re bound to find something happening within a five block radius at any given time. (Warning: it probably involves at least one of the aforementioned food groups.)

1. I really need to buy a bike. If you can’t beat em, join em!

3 thoughts on “The Top 10 Things I’ve Learned in Madison my First 10 Days:

    • Yes – definitely! I would love to hear how Racine went! My number is 815.218.3511 – whenever you’re free/rested/can walk again we should get together! I’m literally on FUNemployment until Mid August so I’m usually pretty free! haha

  1. Pingback: Does Anyone Actually Like Yoga? | Race for all 50 States

Leave a Reply

