Goals for Getting Faster – Making it Happen!

You know how on The Biggest Loser the contestants just get to work out all of the time? (Ok, maybe “get to” is the wrong word.) Well that is how my summer has been, except that I enjoy 100% of it. Now, I haven’t lost any weight because I’ve offset all my activity with avocados, but I have had an amazing time getting my heart rate up and endorphins flowing!

I run to eat avocado on everything. That and to eat frozen yogurt daily.

I run to eat avocado on everything. That and to eat frozen yogurt daily.

In Madison there is no reason not to be active every day. There are bike paths EVERYWHERE, I am a college student again and have access to a lap pool, and there are tons of opportunities for free workout activities – from yoga to walks in the arboretum.

Screen shot 2013-08-08 at 3.41.22 PM

Since I have been on FUNemployment for the last six weeks I’ve decided to stay busy bettering my mind and body as much as possible. As I mentioned, I’ve made the move from strictly running to branching out a little more – including biking, swimming, yoga, and also as of recently – weight lifting.

And let me tell you something – it is paying off, big time.

I am getting stronger.

Just had this mind-blowingly kick ass run today! Maybe it was the pre-run coffee or the tunes, but whatever it was it worked!

Just had this mind-blowingly kick ass run today! Maybe it was the pre-run coffee or the tunes, but whatever it was it worked!

I’m getting faster. 

Best run of my life. I didn't even know this was possible.

Best run of my life. I didn’t even know this was possible.

Oh yeah, and I’m getting tanner: BONUS!

And I love it! I love having helmet hair or smelling faintly of chlorine. I love wanting to cry at the sight of stairs after leg day in the gym. (Ok, OK – I’ve done ONE leg day. I’m far from a regular yet.)

I’ve been noticing that my pace is getting quite a bit faster with running. I am not sure if the cross training is to attribute, or I am pushing myself mentally more. Either way, there are no excuses not to keep it up.

So I’m setting some goals.

Next weekend I am doing the Madison Mini-Marathon. My goal is to PR, which I don’t think should be too difficult given the success of my recent runs. My PR pace right now is 8:49/mi. I’d love to get into the 1:53’s with my half marathon time.

  • Goal #1 is to PR
  • Goal #2 is to break 1:54.

That’s a huge jump from the 1:56ish I ran at the Indy Mini-Marathon in May.

My next goal is for the Quad Cities Marathon in September. The last marathon I ran was the Mississippi Blues Marathon way back in January. (Has it been eight months already?!) but my PR was at the Marine Corps Marathon in October where I ran a 4:13:48 or a pace of 9:40/mi.

  • Goal #1 is to PR
  • Goal #2 is to break 4:10 – or roughly a 9:30 min/mi
  • Goal #3 is to break 4:00????!! (Probably wishful thinking for Quad Cities, but I’m writing it down anyway.)

I think goals 1 & 2 are definitely do-able. Again, it is going to be more mental strength than physical strength that will push me toward achieving any of them. I know I can physically handle it – I just need to not whimp out and psych myself out.

I am anxious to see what my workout life is going to be like when grad school starts (less than two weeks away) but until then it’s two-a-day workouts galore!

What has helped your pace improve?
Have you ever had a surprise kick-ass run?
Do you have any goals for the fall season?

7 thoughts on “Goals for Getting Faster – Making it Happen!

  1. Dude, given your ability to knock out insanely consistent splits at the marathon, I think you definitely have it in you to break 4:00. And the surprise kick-ass runs always happen in September and October, once summer has faded and I can run in 40s and 50s again. That’s when it all just feels EASY.

    Goals for the fall: marathon double. Washington and Oregon in one weekend — gotta get ’em done!

    • Haha – thanks! (I blame good pacers!) Good luck on the marathon double. Will that be your first double? That’s awesome and I’ve got to admit I’m a little (read: WAY WAY WAY) jealous. The Pacific Northwest will be a lot of fun to romp around in I expect!

      I was hoping to do back-to-back Quad and then Twin Cities the next weekend, but TC was sold out! :( I have a friend with a number who can’t run it so I’m thinking about buying her bib. What’s your opinion on the ethics of that, since there are no official transfers? Is that shady? Also, does it count if your name isn’t on the internet?

      • I don’t really have any sort of strgetay but I am esxited to hear what you decide and how your race goes!!! I am sorry to say we wont be heading up there tomorrow. i decided to save on the gas and $10 registration and go with the local and free Bank to Bay 1K next month. GOOD LUCK!!! You will do GREAT!!!

  2. Pingback: Grateful for Miles – Gratitude Challenge | Race for all 50 States

  3. Pingback: Hell Yeah Race Report: Madison Mini-Marathon | Race for all 50 States

Leave a Reply

